PERC Executive

The Pembina Escarpment Reading Council
Email Address 
Lisa Carlson
Past President
Barb Lepp
Vice President
Cindy Phillips 
Secretary Suzanne Godard
Darlene Keith
Membership Chair
 Louise Duncan 
Member at LargeAllison 
Member at LargeHeather
Member at LargeBarbara Penner
Member at LargeAnnie

The Pembina Escarpment Reading Council (PERC) was recently chartered by the International Reading Association as a Regional Council.  With wonderful assistance from the Manitoba and International Reading Associations, the PERC executive members were successful in establishing a Board of ten people and a membership of over 20 people – both of which were necessary in the chartering process. Since that time, the membership has grown.  Carol Hryniuk-Adamov, Manitoba’s IRA representative, and Susan Barnaby, MRA president, were very helpful in the establishment of PERC, and the executive sends out a huge thank-you to them.

PERC has set goals that will drive the council’s activities.  These goals are as follows:

  • To promote the love of reading
  • To promote and improve literacy for all
  • To celebrate the connections between learning, literacy, and life
  • To connect with IRA, MRA, and other local Manitoba councils
  • To provide a venue for community literacy advocates to partner as one voice
  • To provide an avenue for regional educators to learn and grow as literacy instructors
  • To be a source of excellent professional development that matches research and practice in the area of literacy

PERC held a launching event - “Literacy 1 to 110” on February 22nd in the beautiful Winkler library, and is currently running a Logo Competition as well as planning for next year’s program. 

If you are interested in becoming a member of PERC, please contact your principal for a membership form, and send the form with a $15 membership fee to: 

P.E.R.C.  c/o  Louise Duncan
 Prairie Rose School Division 
Box 1510 Carman, MB R0G 0J0

And remember:  Every Manitoban – a literate Manitoban.

Submitted by:  Dale Owen and Louise Duncan, PERC Presidents.

No comments:

Post a Comment